How to turn off Instagram friends when you’re online



For the longest time, Instagram has been a safe space of social avoidance – you could go on the app and as long as you didn’t like or post any photos you could scroll to your heart’s content, without a friend messaging to ask why you could trawl Instagram but not message them back.

But Instagram has now decided to follow in the footsteps of Facebook, WhatsApp and Messenger by adding a feature that tells friends when you were last online checking out some flawlessly filtered salads.

It’s not all bad news, though – the information is only shared with the people you last privately messaged or tagged in an Instagram story and, even better, you can opt out.


READ ALSO:   How to get Your Airtel Data at Affordable Price in 2018

Opt out – If you’d really rather no one knew just how often you were on Instagram, turning off the ‘last active’ feature is simply a matter of going to your profile page and heading into the ‘Options’ menu.

You can get to that on Android by pressing on the three vertical B.uttons in the top right hand corner own profile, while on iOS you’ll see a cog icon next to ‘Edit Profile’ that you’ll need to press.

From here you’ll be able to scroll down to settings where you’ll find a toggle for ‘Show Activity Status’ about half way down. Slide this to off with the panic the situation warrants and your problem is solved.

READ ALSO:   Read Details of the new major changes from Facebook for 2018

It’s worth noting that once you turn off your own activity status you won’t be able to see anyone else’s either, but this seems like a fair trade off to us.

1

Share On:


CONNECT WITH NAIJASUREGUYS FOR MUSIC PROMOTION
Call +2348178250300 or Chat with us on Whatsapp For Music Promo Only